HOLCOMBE Enters the History Books !

Already guaranteed to keep the belt of the Mika Ahola “Brave One” Trophy, Steve HOLCOMBE (GB – Beta) had only to finish the job in Germany’s technical X-Rocks Enduro Test, one that that left little margin for error. We look at what went down in the last days of the 2018 “Brave One” Trophy…

While he didn’t quite manage 8 consecutive victories to finish the season, HOLCOMBE still completed a last very strong Grand Prix on test, with a 3rd place on Saturday and the victory on Sunday. He won the “Brave One” Trophy by more than 69 points advantage on the runner-up, Brad FREEMAN (GB – Beta Boano).

The Beta Boano rider was the only one able to stop Steve HOLCOMBE’s winning streak by taking the fastest time on Saturday. Coupled with a 3rd place on the second day, the new E1 World Champion take the spot of second strongest rider in the Enduro Tests at the expense of Alex SALVINI (I – Husqvarna).
6th on Saturday, the Italian’s DNF the next day did not allow him to keep fighting until the end, but ‘SALVO’ still finished 3rd in the Trophy standings.
Note the good performances of freshly crowned E2 World Champion Eero REMES (SF – TM) 7th and 2nd, and Vice-Champion Loïc LARRIEU (F – Yamaha), 2nd and 7th. Also those of Danny MCCANNEY (GB – Gas Gas), 5th and 4th, and the Italian Davide GUARNERI (Honda RedMoto), 4th and 6th.
Despite some difficulties in this tricky German Enduro Test (16th/12th), Junior World Champion Matteo CAVALLO (I – Beta Boano) secured a place among the 10 fastest riders of the year…

At a time when the youngsters are taking over the lead positions of the FIM Maxxis EnduroGP World Championship, Steve HOLCOMBE also confirms his position as leader of this “golden generation” by winning the EnduroGP title alongside the Mika AHOLA “Brave One” Trophy for the second year in a row. He becomes, at the same time, the only double winner of this coveted belt in honour of the great Mika AHOLA. The late Finn took many wins in Enduro Tests and became synonymous with the terrain which combines technique, concentration, improvisation, and drive.

Final Classification: 1. Steve HOLCOMBE 228pts ; 2. Brad FREEMAN 159pts; 3. Alex SALVINI 145pts; 4. Eero REMES 136pts; 5. Jamie MCCANNEY 133pts; 6. Loïc LARRIEU 132pts; 7. Christophe NAMBOTIN 100pts; 8. Danny MCCANNEY 100pts; 9. Matteo CAVALLO 91pts; 10. Thomas OLDRATI 71pts…

error: Alert: DIT MAG NIET !!