Bel-Ray Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Graham Jarvis ended his participation in the 2014 Roof of Africa in Lesotho with a third place result following three tough days of competition.

Renowned for being one of the toughest and most unpredictable extreme enduro races on the calendar, the 2014 Roof of Africa lived up to it’s fearsome reputation. Long, long days of racing and some seriously hard terrain ensured a high rate of attrition for the competitors involved.

Entering the event as defending champion, Jarvis had his sights set on making it a repeat victory. Feeling confident following his recent win at the GetzenRodeo in Germany and Wildwood Extreme in Australia, Jarvis initially got day one off to a good start.

Quickly catching early pace setter Wade Young, Jarvis fought his way into the lead and opened up a small but comfortable advantage. On a tricky water crossing, the Husqvarna rider ran into problems when he badly drowned his bike. Loosing a lot of time in getting it going again, he ended day one in ninth.

Working hard over the following two days, Jarvis tried his best to fight his way back into contention. Pushing on to the finish line on day three he secured a well deserved third place result.

Placing one position behind Jarvis, Husqvarna Motorcycles South Africa’s Altus De Wet ended his race in fourth overall.

Graham Jarvis: “It’s definitely been a really hard race – I can’t think of any other race where the days were so long. I can’t imagine what it must have been like for some riders. The first day went well. I got a bit of a lead on Wade Young and I think I was in front for about 15 minutes. But then I drowned my bike and just couldn’t get it going. A lot of riders passed me and I lost a lot of time. When you loose time, especially that amount of time, it’s almost impossible to recover unless other riders have similar problems. After that it was a matter of salvaging the best result I could. I’m pleased with my effort, to have made it back onto the podium.”

Results – Roof of Africa 2014

1. Wade Young (KTM) 18:25:55; 2. Brett Swanepoel (Yamaha) 18:55:22; 3. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna) 18:58:32; 4. Altus De Wet (Husqvarna) 19:48:52; 5. James Hodson (Yamaha) 20:32:23; 6. Kenny Gilbert (Yamaha) 20:51:35; 7. Charan Moore (Yamaha) 21:24:59; 8. Wynand Badenhorst (KTM) 21:30:24; 9. Lars Enockl (KTM) 21:54:27; 10. Henco Botha (KTM) 22:31:33… 14. Blake Gutzeit (Husqvarna) 23:18:30…

error: Alert: DIT MAG NIET !!